Featured Review  
  Recent Reviews  
  Hot Genres  
  Humor (11 Books)   Sword & Sorcery (6 Books)   Humorous (6 Books)   Dark Humor (3 Books)   Satire (3 Books)   Crime (3 Books)   LitRPG (2 Books)   Police Procedural (2 Books)   Post-Apocalyptic (2 Books)   Superhero (1 Book)   Fantasy (1 Book)   Historical (1 Book)   Military (1 Book)   Comedy (1 Book)   Mystery (1 Book) All Genres  
  Available Codes  
No codes available at this time.

Book Review

Making Man Play Audiobook Sample

 

Written by: John Drake
Narrated by: Bryan Stansbury
Genres: Humor | Historical
Published: 30th of December, 2019
Length: 6 Hours 57 Minutes

 

  • Audible
  • Audible UK
  • Amazon
  • Description
    Cobble is a Neanderthal with itchy feet and the mind of an engineer, unlike anyone else in his old-fashioned tribe. Making Man follows his journey as he leaves the village of Boardom behind, taking him through mountains, underground animal lairs, and into new landscapes. As with all good prehistoric comedies there is a mysterious pendant and a healthy dose of talking insects.

    Fans of Douglas Adams and Sir Terry Pratchett may not enjoy Making Man as much as those esteemed authors, there are fewer elephants and no Vogons after all, but they should enjoy and remember it fondly nonetheless.

     

    Morgan Hobbes
    Morgan Hobbes

    Performance: 
    Quality: 
    Story: 
    Engagement: 

    Average Score: 

    Reviewed: 2020-07-01

    Vote!
    Was this review helpful?

          

    1 / 1 Found This Helpful

    Funny and Heartfelt Prehistoric Fun
    I enjoyed the hell out of this one! I’m on a bit of a roll recently with books in the vein of Douglas Adams and this one has many similar qualities, maybe not as polished but a cracking good story besides.

    The story revolves around Cobble, a neanderthal with a mind for engineering, and Bones, an adopted outsider with an unknown past and only a mysterious pendant to his name.

    Unsatisfied with their life in Boardom, the sleepy commune filled with cavemen who excel in doing nothing at all, Cobble and Bones strike out on their own to find a better life.

    A large cast of characters each with quirks of their own. The narrator, Bryan Stansbury, does a fantastic job keeping them in line though. His choice of accents helped, and certainly made me grin thinking of cavemen with cockney, snooty, and various others found around the British isles.

    Filled with plenty of laugh-out-loud one-liners, a stack of crazy adventures, talking animals and insects, and more heart and sincerity that you would think prehistorical humans capable of, John Drake knocked it out of the park with this one.

    If Mr Drake keeps writing stories like these then I’ll keep on getting them. I’ll be keeping an eye out for any new stories he releases.

    This was an absolute delight of a story, and I thoroughly recommend it.


    I was given this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. I have not let this affect nor influence my opinions of this audiobook, and have left an honest review.

     

     

    TheAudiobookReview.com is first and foremost a review website, so if you've got something you want to say about "Making Man" then click the button below to get started!



    We use cookies to improve your experience on our site. Read our Terms of Service to find out more. Continuing to use our site implies consent. Agree to Cookies