The Supervillainy Saga, Volume One

The Supervillainy Saga #1

The Audiobook Review Logo
The Supervillainy Saga, Volume One
Written by: C.T. Phipps
Narrated by: Jeffrey Kafer
Series: The Supervillainy Saga #1
Genres: Superhero | Action & Adventure | Humor
Published: 22nd of March, 2021
Length: 19 Hours 39 Minutes



Available From:

The best-selling superhero series is now available as a collection.

Gary Karkofsky has always wanted to be a supervillain. Ever since his infamous brother was killed an antihero, he's secretly yearned to gain powers and take over the world. Gary gets his chance when the magical cloak of recently deceased superhero, the Nightwalker, is delivered right to his doorstep. But is he evil enough to be a supervillain? What will his wife think?

Follow Gary as he becomes Merciless: The Supervillain Without Mercy TM. Gary will finds himself bouncing from one insane situation to another. Whether its recruiting his ex-girlfriend and a washed up mastermind as henchmen, fighting against villains like the Ice Scream Man, escaping from moon prisons, dealing with zombie apocalypses, or working against the insane president of the United States - Gary is always just barely keeping his head above water.

But maybe the world's worst supervillain can be its best hero. Or at least a passable one.



Funny and Entertaining Anti-Hero

Review by: The Audiobook ReviewBook one of The Supervillainy Saga, written by C.T. Phipps, was one of the earlier audiobooks I'd ever purchased and subsequently forgot to continue with. Not because the book wasn't great, it simply slipped my mind. This pack contained the first three books in the series, and I hadn't realised how much that 1) I'd forgotten, and 2) I enjoyed it!

These are an amusing and entertaining series of books, and I've since added the others to my wish list so I pick them up in the future. If you like superhero and books that don't mind poking fun at their own genre, then these will be for you. Gary Karkofsky, our "hero" of the story leads a dull life where he wants nothing more than to be a supervillain. Of course, this wish is fulfilled when the magical cloak of the foremost (and newly deceased) hero of the city turns up on his doorstep.

Suddenly he gets everything he wants and becomes Merciless: The Supervillain Without Mercy ™. The tautology alone should give you an idea of what this book is going to be like.

Gary enjoys being a supervillain but aspires to be a nice one by only killing those who really deserve it… like all the other supervillains who stand in his way. He bumbles about, acquiring sidekicks and mentors along the way to help him in his quest.

The author plays on clichés and superhero tropes well to give a funny and thoroughly entertaining plot that kept me listening for hours at a time until my Bluetooth batteries ran out. A lot of character growth to be had across the first three books, with Merciless acting not always like his namesake.

The narrator, Jeffrey Kafer, suited this book well. His voice lends itself perfectly (in my opinion) to Gary. That kind of... gruff, self-assured, manly superhero, er, supervillain type voice worked well. Certainly easy to listen to.

Narration Sample

At the time of writing this, I believe there are seven books in the series so far. If they are all as entertainingly good as the first three, then I'm sure I'll be adding them all into my playlist in time.

I was given this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. I have not let this gift affect nor influence my opinions of this audiobook and have left an honest review.


The Audiobook Review Logo


Reviewed: 2022-03-19


Comment on The Supervillainy Saga, Volume One

Note: Your comments will appear immediately. However, we reserve the right to remove any comments that violate the rules outlined in our Terms of Service.

* Required information


Nothing to see here yet. Be the first!

Grab a Free Code


Richard: Distant Son

LAF:  From the Eyes of Contentment 

Latest Blogs


We use cookies to improve your experience on our site. Read our Terms of Service to find out more. Continuing to use our site implies consent.
Agree to Cookies