Featured Book  
  Latest Blogs  
  Available Codes  
Spinner


Audiobook

The Art of Dying

A Ray Hanley Crime Thriller


The Art of Dying
Written by: Derik Cavignano
Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
Genres: Crime
Published: 27th of March, 2020
Length: 8 Hours 59 Minutes

 

 

Listen to Samples:

Audible
Audible UK
Amazon

Description
2019 American Fiction Awards winner (general horror)

2019 Best Book Awards winner (horror)

2019 American Fiction Awards finalist (crime thrillers)

When the bizarre death of a mob foot soldier sparks an escalating war between Boston’s Irish and Italian mafia, detective Ray Hanley’s relentless search for the truth uncovers evidence of a serial killer obsessed with the art of human suffering.

As the body count rises, Detective Hanley must navigate a minefield of crime families, dirty politicians, and crooked cops, while matching wits with a deranged serial killer. But temptation, betrayal, and death threaten to derail the investigation, and justice doesn’t come without a price.

From the author of Colony of the Lost (a 2016 Silver Falchion Award Finalist for best horror) comes a novel for fans of Thomas Harris, Michael Connelly, and Dennis Lehane.A crime thriller reminiscent of The Silence of The Lambs and The Departed.

 

Review

Top Notch Disturbing Crime Thriller

Review by: Morgan HobbesThe Art of Dying - A Ray Hanley Crime Thriller - written by Derik Cavignano was both disturbing and thoroughly enjoyable to listen to. A twisted serial killer is on the loose, disfiguring the victims... the first you meet early on that sets the tone for what's coming. Intertwined with this is a brewing Irish vs Italian Mafia war.

Set on the mean streets of Boston, this is a gritty crime thriller that stomps on the gas and doesn't ease off. There is a LOT of graphic horror in this book, violence, mutilation, sexual abuse, so be warned.

In this story, a lot is going on with plenty of crooks and cops to keep you guessing about how the story is going to unfold. The story is solid, with albeit some heavy character tropes, but overall they work well.

It was a little too much on the graphic horror side of a crime thriller for me, but I'll be damned if I couldn't stop listening. Cavignano sucked me right into this story, and I hated having to turn it off.

Narrated by Peter Berkrot, his gruff, gravelly voices giving the cops a real, gritty Boston feel. I wasn't a big fan of his little kid voices, but the other voices were solid. Quality was excellent, professional.

Overall, this was an enjoyable crime thriller. Not quite my cup of tea (a Boston joke for ya) with some of the extra-violent parts, but a well-written story that kept me hooked.


I was given this audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review. I have not let this gift affect nor influence my opinions of this audiobook and have left an honest review.

 

The Audiobook Review Logo
Performance: 
Quality: 
Story: 
Engagement: 

Average Score: 

Reviewed: 2021-04-28


We use cookies to improve your experience on our site. Read our Terms of Service to find out more. Continuing to use our site implies consent. Agree to Cookies